In AMSI in the news, Media releases, News

The Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) congratulates Eddie Woo and members and supporters of the mathematical sciences community on their inclusion in the 2018 Australia Day Honours.

AMSI Director, Professor Prince, said it was gratifying to see members of the mathematical community acknowledged in this way.

“Policy shapers, innovators and role-models, these are individuals whose passion and leadership are causing ripples of change across the Australian mathematical pipeline,” he said.

Wootube founder and Head of Maths at Cherrybrook Technology High School, Eddie Woo, received the 2018 Australian Local Hero Award for his application of modern technology approaches in the classroom. The 2016 AMSI Choose Maths Excellence Award winner also delivered this year’s NSW Australia Day address.

Perhaps one of Australia’s most famous mathematics teachers, Woo is a true pioneer whose creativity and passion in the classroom has transformed student engagement and achievement. With over 160,000 followers, the impact of his work is felt globally.

“An outstanding educator and mathematics advocate, Eddie has made an indelible impact on Australian mathematics and is richly deserving of this recognition and the platform it provides to further their work,” he said.

Other AMSI friends honoured included:

  • Companion of the Order of Australia

Professor Trevor John McDougall AC
For eminent service to science, and education. A mentor for young scientists, his work has contributed ocean thermodynamics and the understanding of climate science.

  • Officer of the Order of Australia

Emeritus Professor Michael Newton Barber AO
For distinguished service to higher education administration and science policy reform. The former Vice Chancellor of Flinders University is an active contributor to AMSI. His work has deepened understanding of mathematical physics, particularly statistical mechanics.

  • Order of Australia Medal

Dr David Christopher Hunt OAM
For service to education, and to mathematics. A long-time contributor and friend of AMSI and its Schools Program, David has played a significant role in the success of the ICE-EM books as an author and is a passionate advocate for delivery of quality content to schools nationally. He was also actively involved in the Australian Mathematics Trust (AMT).

Mr Warren Atkins OAM
For service to mathematics education. A founding Board member and former Director of the AMT, the impact of his work is still felt today. In particular his instrumental role in establishing a national high-school mathematics competition.

The Institute also congratulates UNSW Quantum Physicist, Professor Michelle Simmons on being named Australian of the Year. A vocal advocate for strengthening Australia’s mathematical capability, she was recognised for her contribution to computer science.

For Interview:
Professor Geoff Prince, AMSI Director

Media Contact: Laura Watson
M: 04215 18733

Recent Posts