AustMS Awards Honour Australian Mathematical Leaders

 In AustMS Gazette, Media releases, News

The Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS) has honoured four of Australia’s leading mathematicians at a ceremony in Canberra today.

Opening the AustMS 60th annual meeting, a central fixture of MathsFest 2016, Professor Tim Marchant congratulated this year’s winners of the Medal of the Australian Mathematical Society, George Szekeres Medal (only awarded in even years) and Gavin Brown Best Paper Prize.

Excellence Under 40: Wollongong Professor Wins AustMS Medal

As this year’s AustMS Medal recipient, Professor Aidan Sims from University of Wollongong (UOW) was recognised for his outstanding research as a member under 40. Aidan is recognised for his contributions to functional analysis and operator algebras, in particular the theory of higher-rank graph C*-algebras. Most recently he has co-authored papers proving that all Kirchberg C*- algebras have nuclear dimension 1. He has also been active in fostering new talent through research training, and directs UOW’s Mathematical Sciences Research Cluster.

“This recognition by the AustMS at this stage of my career is extremely humbling. The Society is an instrumental force in fostering national and international mathematical ties, deepening engagement between different fields of mathematics, and championing gender equity in the mathematical sciences” said Professor Sims.

Joint Even Year Honours for Joint George Szekeres Medal Winners

The George Szekeres Medal was awarded jointly to Professors Jim Hill and Gustav Lehrer for their sustained outstanding contribution to research in the mathematical sciences. Both medallists also have an excellent record of promoting and supporting the discipline.

Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of South Australia, Professor Hill is a respected leader in the field of nonlinear elasticity and the solution of difficult boundary-value problems. He has fostered the careers of over 25 PhD graduates. As well leadership roles as ANZIAM Chair and Vice President of AustMS, he has lead world-class teams of students and researchers as Nanomechanics Group Leader at both the Universities of Wollongong and Adelaide. Thanking AustMS for the award, Professor Hill welcomed the acknowledgement of mentoring and its critical role in building long-term research capacity.

“It is heartening to see the development of new talent acknowledged and valued as a real contribution to the advancement of research and future innovation capacity,” he said

Co-recipient of the George Szekeres Medal, Professor Lehrer, a world leader in algebra and geometry, was honoured by the recognition. He was recognised for his commitment to fostering the careers of some of the nation’s most outstanding PhD students and postdoctoral researchers, including as Head of School of the University of Sydney’s School of Mathematics and Director of the Centre of Mathematics and Applications at ANU.

“I thank the AustMS for this recognition of my work and the importance of fostering and mentoring new talent. A critical focus as we strengthen innovation capacity for the future,” said Professor Lehrer.

Sound Advice Leads Researcher to Gavin Brown Prize

Gavin Brown Best Paper Prize winner Professor George Willis from the University of Newcastle was recognised for his outstanding joint original research paper with Yehuda Shalom, Commensurated subgroups of arithmetic groups, totally disconnected groups and adelic ridgidity, Geom Funct. Anal. 23 (2013) no. 5, 1631-1683.

“I thank the Australian Mathematical Society for this great honour. I am particularly pleased to receive the Gavin Brown Prize because my first job was working with him. One of the good pieces of advice that he gave me was to broaden my interests, and I think that I have followed that advice in this work,” said Professor Willis.

Addressing the 2016 winners, AustMS President, Professor Tim Marchant, thanked them for their contributions as original thought leaders at the cutting-edge of Australian and global mathematical science.

“Each of this year’s winners has made their own indelible mark on mathematical discovery, deepening understanding of their fields and helping foster a repository of new talent to support mathematical innovation into the future,” said Professor Marchant.

The 60th AustMS annual meeting, this event provides a platform for national and international mathematical collaboration through a diverse program of cutting-edge mathematical research and methodologies.

Professor Tim Marchant and award winners available for Interview.

Media Contact
Laura Watson

P: 04215 18733

Recent Posts