The Cartesian plane

The number plane, or Cartesian plane, is divided into four quadrants by two perpendicular lines called the \(x\)-axis, a horizontal line, and the \(y\)-axis, a vertical line. These axes intersect at a point called the origin. Once a unit distance has been chosen, the position of any point in the plane can be uniquely represented by an ordered pair of numbers \((x,y)\). For the point \((5,3)\), for example, 5 is the \(x\)-coordinate and 3 is the \(y\)-coordinate, sometimes called the first and second coordinates. When developing trigonometry, the four quadrants are usually called the first, second, third and fourth quadrants as shown in the following diagram.

Set of axes with the four quadrants labelled.
Detailed description

There are a number of elementary questions that can be asked about a pair of points \(A(a,b)\) and \(B(c,d)\).

Set of axes with the points A(a, b) and B(c, d) marked.

The answers to all of these questions will be discussed in this module, as will answers to other questions such as:

These questions give some idea of the scope of coordinate geometry.

Next page - Content - The distance between two points